Greed is OUT – Good is IN

Maybe you’re like me.  I have spent many years looking for a spiritual solution to worldly problems.

Every day when I wake up I pray.  I pray for people in Haiti who have to eat dirt, I pray for the victims of the Chinese earthquake and the Hurricane in Burma, I pray for Palestine, Iraq, Israel, and people who are losing their homes and everything else due to the economy, I pray for my parents and grandparents who are passed, I pray for my husband and children and lots of others. I pray for myself that I can be the best person, do a good job at work and that I can help change lives.  I send love and compassion to others and myself

The more I pray, the more I meditate and believe – the better I feel. It doesn’t seem to matter how “bad” my situation is or desperate the economy or world events get I seem to get stronger and more committed to my faith.

So what?   I agree who cares what I do when I wake up. What matters is that there are more of us who wake up to do something else other than make money.  Don’t get me wrong – Oh we all work. But most of us don’t make money – in the US 10% of the people have 90% of the money so we know who we’re working for don’t we? 

We all work – In India a woman sells pieces of thread on the sidewalk, on the sidewalk in Mexico city she sells a handmade bracelet, on the square in Santa Fe, a silver chain.  We go to factories in China and mines in South America, offices in New York, Chicago and Mumbai,  and orchards in California and Chile. In Africa women carry water and men hunt for food or work in their shops or at the local market, we ride in cars and walk to work, we take buses and trains to work. We take care of our children and grandparents and cook food and fish. We Work.

But we don’t really make money do we? Most of us just want to have a roof over our heads and food on the plate. We want to look at our healthy children who can read, write and love us back.  We want to rest in a bed, be free from pestilence and violence in our homes. We want to wake up to the glory of a new day where we can live in a just and caring world.  That’s all we want.

Greed has crushed even the simple wants – nay the needs for most. Most of the world is living in poverty – the depth of which most Americans don’t even believe exists.  Many people don’t even have the water they need to drink, and are certainly malnourished. Their lives go from depravation to degradation.

Our economic and political systems are not so different from the manifest destiny and right of Kings. We just have a new spin on things – everything American is the best.  While the rest of the world was still in the third world or rebuilding from WWII our country was making up a whole new version of empire.  Now much of what we created then is gone, our industrial base is all but dead and the financial system that seemed impervious to cycles is now found to be the cause of the economic bubbles.  The decline of both are a result of the greed that caused industry to move abroad and the kind of leveraging that makes our heads spin.

Good can overcome greed, and it must be our future. We must commit to the common good, where our work and lives contribute to the well being of our world and our fellow travelers in this journey. We can choose to serve our hearts and use our heads to create solutions to the desperate poverty and pervasive lack of resources on our planet.  We must choose one another over mobile capital and slavery. We can stop the suffering.

Good is part of a global spiritual solution to our woes. We share in a common heritage as children of God, no matter or race or faith. Therefore take your faith, whether it be in God or humanity and make good in your life. Make good in your place of work, in your neighborhood, in your home. Join me in making good our common goal.

Leave a Reply

